Knox County Tennessee

Introduction to Knox County Chancery Court

The Knox County Chancery Court is a civil court of record.  It has jurisdiction, which includes inherent equitable and statutorily mandated jurisdiction, to hear and decide numerous types of cases. The Knox County Chancery Court includes the Chancery Division and the Probate Division. 

The Chancery Division handles matters over which the chancery courts of Tennessee have jurisdiction, including, but not limited to, the following types of cases:

  • divorces (agreed and contested)
  • adoptions and legitimation
  • contract disputes
  • conservatorships and guardianships
  • name changes
  • boundary disputes
  • appointment and removal of trustees
  • proceedings in aid of execution
  • worker’s compensation
  • suits on foreign judgments

The Probate Division of Knox County Chancery Court, pursuant to Statute and Local Rules, receives filings with respect to the probate of wills and the administration of estates.  The Clerk and Master, J. Scott Griswold, oversees the administration of probate matters, and performs many of the functions formerly reserved to the county judge, subject to the review and approval of the Chancellors.

For questions regarding the probate of an estate, please contact the Probate Division at (865) 215-2389.