print header

Driver's License

Why Wait in Line

First time applicants for a Tennessee State Drivers' Licenses must obtain their licenses from the Testing Sites of the Tennessee Department of Safety. Click Here for Driver Service Center Locations by Service. The Knox County Clerk's Office participates in the Clerk's Partnership Program with the Tennessee Department of Safety, and offers only Drivers' License Renewals and Replacements at four of our offices listed below.

Please note:

- For providing these services, the Knox County Clerk's Office collects $4.00 in addition to all state fees (T.C.A. § 55-50-331 (a))

- A new picture will be required when you come in.

- If you do not receive the hard copy of your driver’s license within 20 business days of issuance, you must email Online.driverlicense@tn.gov. The Knox County Clerk offices cannot reissue the license without charging a duplicate fee.


Replacement Driver License or Photo Identification Card

Driver's LicenseYou may replace your Class 'D' Driver License or Photo ID Card at any of the four Knox County Clerk's Offices listed above. You will need to bring two (2) acceptable forms of ID.The fee for the first duplicate/replacement is $12.00. The fee is $16.00 for a duplicate license if you have received a duplicate/replacement Driver License or Photo ID Card since your last renewal. If an eye exam is needed to remove a restriction, you will need to visit a state office as our offices only process driver’s license renewals and duplicates.




Driver License or Photo Identification Card Renewal

Tennessee State Law requires that all persons issued a Tennessee driver's license since January 1, 2001, as well as first-time applicants, be required to document they are either a U.S. Citizen or a lawful permanent resident at the time of their first renewal. If you have not renewed your license since 2001, you may not renew by mail or online. You will be required to visit a State Drivers’ Testing Station in person and provide proof of lawful U.S. residency.

Driver's LicenseDriver licenses issued since January, 1993 are set to expire on your next birthday evenly divisible by 5 (e.g., 25, 30, 35 . . . 55, 60, 65, 70 etc.) This makes it easier to remember when you are due to renew your license, as well as giving you longer between renewals than the previous four-year term.

The Department of Safety mails every driver a courtesy renewal notice four to six weeks before their license expire date. If you have a change of address and fail to notify the Tennessee Department of Safety, your Driver License Renewal Notice will not be forwarded. You can go to any of the four  Knox County Clerk's Office locations listed above, complete the Standard Driver License Application and have your renewal processed at the service counter.


First Time Applicants and New or Returning Tennessee Residents

Driver's LicenseFirst time Drivers’ License applicants must apply and test at a Tennessee State Facility. New or returning residents holding a valid out-of-state driver license must obtain a Tennessee driver license from a Tennessee State Facility no later than thirty (30) days after establishing residency. All out-of-state driver licenses must be surrendered. Tennessee law does not allow a resident of this state to hold more than one valid driver license.

New residents must provide two (2) proofs of their current valid Tennessee residence address as well as proof of citizenship or legal presence and Social Security Number. If a new resident brings a valid, out-of-state driver license (or a certified driving record from that state showing the license has not expired), only the vision test is required. However, if the license has expired over six months, all tests are required.


Manuals, Forms and Publications

http://tn.gov/safety/publications.htm
Here you will find Driver License Manuals as well as other forms and publications


Testing, Permits, Commercial Driver License, Graduated Driver Licenses and Handgun Carry Permits

http://www.tn.gov/safety/driverlicense/dllocationserv.shtml#full
Here you will find detailed information containing phone numbers, addresses and hours of operation for each service center.


Payment Information

visa The Knox County Clerk's Office accepts cash, checks, and credit cards (Visa, MasterCard, and American Express). We cannot accept credit cards for Drivers License and Passport services. A fee of 2.5% is assessed by the electronic processing company on all credit and debit card transactions. This fee does not go to the Knox County Clerk's Office. When you submit a check, you are authorizing electronic movement of funds from your account to the Knox County Clerk's account for payment of your transaction. There is a $30.00 NSF fee on all returned checks that are processed electronically. For those checks that are not processed electronically, the following statutory penalties will apply: the amount of the check on any amount owing less than or equal to twenty dollars, $20.00 on any amount owing greater than twenty dollars but less than two thousand dollars, and 1% on any amount owing greater than two thousand dollars. (T.C.A. § 9-1-109)

connect
  • Facebook
  • twitter
  • rss
  • email

County Clerk

Old Courthouse
300 Main Street
Knoxville, TN 37902

Phone: 865-215-2385
Fax: 865-215-3655

Hours:
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Driver's License, Marriage License and Passport offices close at 4:00pm
More Information
Satellite Locations
1028 Old Cedar Bluff Road
Knoxville, TN 37923
Phone: 865-215-2385
Hours:
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Marriage License office closes at 4:00pm
More Information
Farragut Town Hall 2nd Floor
11408 Municipal Center Drive
Farragut, TN 37934
Phone: 865-215-2385
Fax: 865-966-5207
Hours:
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Marriage License office closes at 4:00pm
More Information
North Knoxville/Halls Center
7028 Maynardville Pike
Knoxville, TN 37918
Phone: 865-215-2385
Hours:
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Driver's License and Marriage License office closes at 4:00pm
More Information
South Knoxville/Chapman Plaza
7339 Chapman Hwy
Knoxville, TN 37920
Phone: 865-215-2385
Hours:
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Marriage License office closes at 4:00pm
More Information
East Knoxville
3010 S. Mall Road
Knoxville, TN 37917
(The old Markman's Jewelry Store, in front of Lowe's Home Improvement)
Phone: 865-215-2385
Hours:
Monday - Friday
9:00am to 5:30pm
Saturday
9:00am - 1:00 pm
Driver's License, Marriage License and Passport offices close at 5:00pm Monday through Friday

Driver’s License, Marriage License and Passport offices close at 12:30pm Saturday
More Information

Department Email