KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

The Knox County Board of Commissioners met in Special Session on Wednesday, December 5, 2018 immediately following the Public Hearing in the Main Assembly Room of the City-County Building, 400 West Main Street. Those members present were Commissioners Gill, Carringer, Smith, Nystrom, Anders, Busler, Jay, Biggs, Schoonmaker and Dailey. Commissioner Dave Wright resigned from the Commission effective November 7, 2018. Also present were Mr. Richard Armstrong, Knox County Law Director, Mr. Chris Caldwell, Director, Knox County Finance, Mr. Nick McBride, Knox County Register of Deeds, Ms. Sherry Witt, Knox County Clerk and news media.

The following proceedings were had and entered of record to-wit: Commissioner Nystrom, Chairman, presided.

* * * * * *

IN RE: ROLL CALL:

Mrs. Angie Nesbitt, Clerk Recorder, called the roll.

* * * * * *

IN RE: CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING TO SERVE IN THE OFFICE OF KNOX COUNTY COMMISSIONER, SEAT 8, REPRESENTING THE 8TH COMMISSION DISTRICT THROUGH AUGUST 31, 2020;R-18-12-101-SS:

Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, appointing _______ to serve in the office of Knox County Commissioner, Seat 8, representing the 8th Commission District through August 31, 2020 was before the Board of Commissioners.

Mr. Richard Armstrong, Knox County Law Director, was present and spoke on the matter.

Ms. Sonia Sanders, applicant, was present and spoke on the matter.

Ms. Rebecca Longmire, applicant, was present and spoke on the matter.

Mr. Richie Beeler, applicant, was present and spoke on the matter.

Commissioner Anders nominated Mr. Richie Beeler. Commissioner Busler nominated Ms. Sonia Sanders. Commissioner Dailey passed. Commissioner Jay nominated Ms. Rebecca Longmire. Commissioner Biggs nominated Ms. Krystal Gibson. Commissioner Gill passed. Commissioner Carringer passed. Commissioner Smith nominated Mr. Douglas Iglehart. Commissioner Nystrom passed. Commissioner Schoonmaker passed.

The following were nominated for Commissioner, Seat 8: Mr. Richie Beeler, Ms. Sonia Sanders, Ms. Rebecca Longmire, Ms. Krystal Gisbon and Mr. Douglas Iglehart.

* * * * * *

Upon roll call vote for appointment to serve on the Knox County Board of Commissioners, Seat 8, Commissioners Carringer, Smith, Anders and Biggs voted for Mr. Richie Beeler. Commissioners Schoonmaker, Busler and Dailey voted for Ms. Sonia Sanders. Commissioners Gill, Nystrom and Jay voted for Ms. Rebecca Longmire.

Mr. Richie Beeler received 4 votes. Ms. Sonia Sanders received 3 votes. Ms. Rebecca Longmire received 3 votes.

Ms. Krystal Gibson and Mr. Douglas Iglehart received 0 votes.

* * * * * *

Upon roll call vote for appointment to serve on the Knox County Board of Commissioners, Seat 8, Commissioners Carringer, Smith, Anders and Biggs voted for Mr. Richie Beeler. Commissioners Schoonmaker, Busler and Dailey voted for Ms. Sonia Sanders. Commissioners Gill, Nystrom and Jay voted for Ms. Rebecca Longmire.

Mr. Richie Beeler received 4 votes. Ms. Sonia Sanders received 3 votes. Ms. Rebecca Longmire received 3 votes.

* * * * * *

Upon roll call vote for appointment to serve on the Knox County Board of Commissioners, Seat 8, Commissioners Carringer, Smith, Anders and Biggs voted for Mr. Richie Beeler. Commissioners Schoonmaker, Busler and Dailey voted for Ms. Sonia Sanders. Commissioners Gill, Nystrom and Jay voted for Ms. Rebecca Longmire.

Mr. Richie Beeler received 4 votes. Ms. Sonia Sanders received 3 votes. Ms. Rebecca Longmire received 3 votes.

* * * * * *

Upon roll call vote for appointment to serve on the Knox County Board of Commissioners, Seat 8, Commissioners Carringer, Smith, Nystrom, Anders and Biggs voted for Mr. Richie Beeler. Commissioners Schoonmaker, Busler and Dailey voted for Ms. Sonia Sanders. Commissioners Gill and Jay voted for Ms. Rebecca Longmire.

Mr. Richie Beeler received 5 votes. Ms. Sonia Sanders received 3 votes. Ms. Rebecca Longmire received 2 votes.

* * * * * *

Upon roll call vote for appointment to serve on the Knox County Board of Commissioners, Seat 8, Commissioners Carringer, Smith, Nystrom, Anders, Jay

and Biggs voted for Mr. Richie Beeler. Commissioners Gill, Schoonmaker, Busler and Dailey voted for Ms. Sonia Sanders.

Mr. Richie Beeler received 6 votes. Ms. Sonia Sanders received 4 votes.

* * * * * *

Commissioner Jay moved to approve R-18-12-101-SS - Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, appointing Richie Beeler to serve in the office of Knox County Commissioner, Seat 8, representing the 8th Commission District through August 31, 2020. Commissioner Gill seconded the motion and upon roll call vote Commissioners Gill, Carringer, Smith, Nystrom, Anders, Busler, Jay, Biggs, Schoonmaker and Dailey voted aye. The motion carried 10-0-0-0. (Commissioner Dave Wright resigned from the Commission effective November 7, 2018.)

* * * * * * *

<u>IN RE:</u> At this time Commissioner Richie Beeler was sworn in as Knox County Commissioner, Seat 8, representing the 8th Commission District by Judge Kristi M. Davis.

* * * * * *

IN RE: ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business to come before the Knox County Board of Commissioners, Commissioner Nystrom declared the meeting adjourned.

HUGH NYSTROM, CHAIRMAN