KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

The Knox County Board of Commissioners met in Special Session on Tuesday, November 13, 2018 at 4:30 p.m. in the Main Assembly Room of the City-County Building, Main Street. Those members present were Commissioners Gill, Carringer, Smith, Nystrom, Schoonmaker, Anders, Busler, Dailey, Jay and Biggs. Commissioner Dave Wright resigned from the Commission effective November 7, 2018. Also present were Mr. Richard Armstrong, Knox County Law Director, Mr. Chris Caldwell, Knox County Finance Director, and members of the news media.

Commissioner Nystrom, Chairman, presided.

The following proceedings were had and entered of record to-wit:

IN RE: ROLL CALL:

Mrs. Kim Ellis, Minutes Clerk to the Knox County Clerk, called the roll.

IN RE: CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, ACCEPTING THE RESIGNATION OF COMMISSIONER JOHN SCHOONMAKER FROM THE KNOX COUNTY RETIREMENT AND PENSION BOARD AND APPOINTING A COMMISSIONER TO SUCCEED COMMISSIONER JOHN SCHOONMAKER ON SAID BOARD – R-18-11-101-SS:

Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, accepting the resignation of Commissioner John Schoonmaker from the Knox County Retirement and Pension Board and appointing a commissioner to succeed Commissioner John Schoonmaker on said Board was before the Board of Commissioners.

Commissioner Smith nominated himself. Commissioner Dailey nominated Commissioner Busler.

Commissioner Carringer moved that the nominations cease. Commissioner Anders seconded the motion and upon voice vote the motion carried 10-0-0-0.

Upon roll call vote for appointment of a Commissioner to serve on the Knox County Retirement and Pension Board, Commissioners Carringer, Smith, Nystrom, Anders, Busler, Dailey, Jay and Biggs voted for Commissioner Smith. Commissioners Gill and Schoonmaker passed. Commissioner Smith received 8 votes. Commissioner Busler received 0 votes. Commissioner Randy Smith was appointed to serve on the Knox County Retirement and Pension Board.

Commissioner Anders moved to approve Resolution R-18-11-101-SS Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, accepting the resignation of Commissioner John Schoonmaker from the Knox County Retirement and Pension Board and appointing Commissioner Randy Smith to succeed Commissioner John Schoonmaker on said Board. Commissioner Carringer seconded the motion and upon seconded the motion and upon roll call vote Commissioners Gill, Carringer, Smith, Nystrom, Schoonmaker, Anders, Busler, Dailey, Thomas and Brantley voted aye. The motion carried 10-0-0-0.

* * * * * *

IN RE: ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Knox County Board of Commissioners, Commissioner Nystrom declared the meeting adjourned.

KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

HUGH NYSTROM, CHAIRMAN